ivanovo1.jpg

Ivanovo — the Golden Ring of Russia

Ivanovo is a city on the main route of the Golden Ring. Although the first mentioning of the village dates back to 1609, we can say that the settlement, famous for flax processing, already existed in the 14-15th centuries based on archaeological findings of that time. In 1561, Ivan the Terrible presented the village of Ivanovo to the relatives of his second wife, Princess Maria Cherkasskaya.

However, the Ivan Settlement on the Uvod River is associated with the name of Ivan Kalita. The first textile manufactures were established here in the 17th century. Although Ivanovo does not have such a variety of ancient monuments of architecture as other cities of the Golden Ring, there are some places that you can see.

  1. The Transfiguration Cathedral, built by the manufacturer M.N. Garelin in 1893, is the most beautiful church in Ivanovo.
  2. The Fokin’s estate was rebuilt by him into an industrial complex in the 19th century.
  3. The architecture of a mansion comprising the Museum of Ivanovo Chintz has the features of the modernist style.

Ivanovo is not a typical city of the Golden Ring, however, interesting places of this region deserve your attention. The authors of the project of the new Yaroslavl museum “The Golden Ring” show-model included miniatures of the city of Ivanovo in the layout, you can find them on the museum’s website. Or even better – come and see everything with your own eyes!


ivanovo2.jpg

Sights of the city of Ivanovo

The city of Ivanovo is considered relatively young, so many attractions are associated with the history of the 20th century. The Museum of the First Council was opened in 1967, though it is located in a building of 1904. It was here that in 1905 the first Workers’ Council in Russia was convened as a result of strikes.

The Ivanovo Art Museum, functioning since 1959, includes the collections of Dmitry Burylin, the main philanthropist of the city. The house-ship was designed by an architect Daniil Friedman in 1930. A famous dwelling horseshoe house was built in 1934 according to the design of Alexander Panov. The house received a horseshoe shape due to the impossibility to demolish the nearby buildings. This is a striking example of constructivism architecture of the USSR.

The Holy Vvedenskiy Nunnery is a quite new monastery that was founded in 1991. The robes of John of Kronstadt are considered to be one of the most worshiped shrines of the monastery, and parts of the relics of 168 Orthodox martyrs are also stored in its walls. It is convenient to travel along the routes of the Golden Ring by car. Yaroslavl citizens often visit Ivanovo on weekends, combining the travel with sightseeing in Shuya and Palekh.


ivanovo3.jpg

Another famous name of the city is Ivanovo-Voznesensk. The city was formed by uniting two villages. Later, the modern name was the one that remained. In 1853, a priest Vladimir Tsvetaev, the grandfather of Marina Tsvetaeva, was sent here to the Nikolaev Temple. Three generations of this family lived on Ivanovo land for 75 years! You can visit the Tsvetaev family house in the village of Novo-Talitsy.

You can often hear that Ivanovo is referred to as the “city of brides” or “chintz land”. Above all, Ivanovo is famous for textiles. There are 12 textile enterprises in the city and mainly women have been working here. To this day, their caring hands are making cotton, wool, chintz and silk.

Ivanovo is only 300 km from Moscow, bus service is well developed, so tours over the cities of the Golden Ring of Russia with a stop in Ivanovo are very popular among Moscovites. The journey by a long-distance bus from the capital takes about 6 hours. You can travel by train from the capital from the Yaroslavskiy railway station.

You can also drive along the Golden Ring by car, it is convenient to divide the route into several parts, combining sightseeing of cities located close to each other. The city of Ivanovo is rich in mansions of pre-revolutionary architecture, as well as buildings in the style of constructivism. You can go shopping for the textile produced here.


We are open! Come!
We observe anti-COVID measures. Visiting only in masks!

Иваново


ivanovo1.jpg

Иваново — Золотое кольцо России

Иваново — часть основного маршрута Золотого Кольца. Хотя первое упоминание о селе датировано 1609 годом, на основании археологических находок XIV- XV вв. можно сказать, что поселение, славившееся обработкой льна, существовало уже в то время. В 1561 году Иван Грозный пожаловал родственникам своей второй супруги, княжны Марии Черкасской, село Иваново.

Впрочем, поселение Ивань на реке Уводь связывают с именем Ивана Калиты. В XVII веке здесь возникли первые текстильные мануфактуры. Хотя в Иваново нет такого многообразия древних памятников архитектуры, как в других городах Золотого Кольца, здесь найдется, что посмотреть.

  • Преображенский кафедральный собор построен фабрикантом М. Н. Гарелиным в 1893 году и является самым красивым храмом в Иваново.
  • Усадьба Я. Н. Фокина, перестроенная им в XIX в. промышленный комплекс.
  • Архитектура особняка, где располагается Музей Ивановского ситца, имеет черты модерна.

Иваново не является типичным городом Золотого Кольца, однако интересные места этой земли заслуживают внимания. Авторы проекта нового ярославского музея Шоу-макет Золотое Кольцо включили миниатюры города Иваново в композицию, с ней вы можете познакомиться на сайте музея. А еще лучше — лично!


ivanovo2.jpg

Достопримечательности города Иванова

Город Иваново считают сравнительно молодым, поэтому множество достопримечательностей связано с XX веком истории. Музей Первого Совета открылся в 1967 году, хотя располагается он в здании 1904 года постройки. Именно в нем в 1905 году был созван в результате стачек первый Совет в России.

Ивановский художественный музей, функционирующий с 1959 года, включает коллекции Д. Г. Бурылина, главного мецената города. Дом-корабль по задумке архитектора Д. Ф. Фридмана построен в 1930 году. Известный жилой Дом-подкова был сооружен в 1934 году по проекту А. И. Панова. Огибающую форму дом получил в связи с невозможностью сноса иных построек. Это яркий пример архитектуры конструктивизма в СССР.

Свято-Введенский женский монастырь — молодой, он основан в 1991 году. Одной из наиболее почитаемых святынь монастыря считается ряса Иоанна Кронштадтского, также в его стенах хранятся частицы мощей 168 православных мучеников. Путешествие по маршрутам Золотого Кольца удобно совершать на автомобиле. Ярославцы нередко посещают Иваново в выходной день, совмещая путешествие с осмотром достопримечательностей Шуи и Палеха.


ivanovo3.jpg

Еще одно известное название города — Иваново-Вознесенск. Город был образован путем слияния двух сел. Позднее прижилось современное название. В 1853 году сюда, в Николаевский Храм, был направлен священник Владимир Цветаев — дед Марины Цветаевой. Три поколения этой семьи прожили на Ивановской земле 75 лет! Вы можете посетить Дом семьи Цветаевых в селе Ново-Талицы.

Нередко можно услышать упоминания «город невест» или «ситцевый край». Прежде всего, Иваново знаменит текстилем. На территории города насчитывается 12 текстильных предприятий, где работали преимущественно женщины. Их заботливыми руками и по сей день изготавливаются хлопок, шерсть, ситец, шелк.

Иваново расположился всего в 300 км от Москвы, развито автобусное сообщение, поэтому туры по городам Золотого Кольца России с заездом в Иваново весьма популярны и у москвичей. Путь на междугороднем автобусе от столицы занимает порядка 6 часов. Самостоятельное путешествие можно совершать на поезде из столицы с Ярославского вокзала.

Поехать по Золотому Кольцу можно и на машине, удобно разделить маршрут на несколько частей, совместив осмотр достопримечательностей близко расположенных друг к другу городов. Город Иваново богат особняками дореволюционной архитектуры, а также зданиями в направлении конструктивизм. Сюда можно отправиться на текстильный шоппинг.


В соответствии с постановлением правительства РФ музей будет закрыт с 28 марта 2020.