rostov1.jpeg

Rostov — The Golden Ring of Russia

Rostov is an integral part of the Golden Ring of Russia. The first mentioning of Rostov Yaroslavskiy is found in The Tale of Bygone Years record of 862 and states that Rurik owned that city. For the first time, the city was called Great in the Ipatiev Chronicle describing the events of 1151. Now the city is known for a number of sights and the Rostov Kremlin, in which the film "Ivan Vasilyevich Changes the Profession" was shot.

The tourist route includes 8 major cities of the Golden Ring. The tour of ancient cities with a centuries-old history is quite popular, because of their transport accessibility and closeness to the capital. The itinerary can be easily changed, and it is possible to make a customized trip.

Often, when traveling by car along the Golden Ring, tourists include visits to the cities of Uglich, Myshkin, Rybinsk, Gus-Khrustalny, Ples on their own initiative. The authors of the project of the new Yaroslavl museum "The Golden Ring” show-model created a miniature copy of Rostov with its main sights. You can see their creation on the museum website.


rostov2.jpg

The Golden Ring of Russia by car — why you should go to Rostov

The history of Russia began with Rostov the Great Yaroslavskiy. This is a great place for a weekend trip, because the city is only 200 km away from Moscow. You can get there from the Yaroslavskiy railway station by train, the journey will take about 3 hours.

In Rostov the Great, there is a number of hotels located in the restored merchant houses. A simple modern hotel can be booked for the price starting from 1000 RUB per day. It is convenient to travel around the cities of the Golden Ring by car. Rostov the Great is located in the middle of the Golden Ring, so there are several routes with a stop in this ancient city.

The following trip is possible if you plan to travel for 10-12 days: Vladimir — Suzdal — Ivanovo — Ples — Kostroma — Yaroslavl — Tutaev — Rybinsk — Myshkin — Uglich — Rostov the Great — Pereslavl-Zalessky — Sergiyev Posad — Moscow. For those who do not have such a number of days-off, we recommend cutting the trip into several parts. Even the most demanding tourist will find a place to visit in the Golden Ring.


rostov3.jpeg

What to see in Rostov the Great — the main attractions

Rostov the Great is an important part of the history of Russia. For many years, Orthodox Christianity peacefully coexisted with paganism here. From the ancient times, Rostov was famous for trade, and the local fair was the third largest in Russia.

The throne of this ancient city, which survived both the peak of prosperity and the times of oblivion, remembers the reign of the young Yaroslav the Wise. Quiet streets will tell you stories about brave knights led by Dmitry Donskoy who destroyed the horde at the Kulikovo Field.

Every year, at the end of August, Rostov citizens have celebrations devoted to Alesha Popovich, the famous hero of Russian folklore and a native of this place. There is a plenty of religious attractions in Rostov the Great, but besides them, there is a lot to see.

  1. The Rostov Kremlin is a historical and architectural ensemble that has true uniqueness. The construction of the complex of buildings was completed in 1683. Now, it is a calling card of Rostov.
  2. The Church of Resurrection over North Gate, built in the 17th century, is located above the main entrance to the Metropolitan Courtyard, the Holy Gates.
  3. The preserved building of the Assumption Cathedral was erected in 1512. Until the 11th century, the building was a wooden church. For the first time, the stone building of the cathedral was erected in 1220 under Prince Andrey Bogolyubsky.
  4. The construction of the Belfry of the Rostov Kremlin, which is an independent architectural complex, was completed in the 17th century. The bell system, which is a separate musical instrument, produces the famous Rostov chimes. The Lake Nero, on which the entire architectural complex stands grandly, has the ability to reflect the sound off the water surface that makes the bell ringing wonderful.

What to see in Rostov the Great, except for churches and temples?

  1. The Finift Museum contains works of the 18-20th centuries. The technique of “Rostov Finift” was borrowed from the Byzantine masters.
  2. The Museum “The Frog Princess”, that is especially loved by children, is located in the restored merchant’s mansion of the 18th century.
  3. The Lake Nero is also a calling card of Rostov. It’s a real present from nature! 

We are open! Come!
We observe anti-COVID measures. Visiting only in masks!

rostov1.jpeg

Ростов — Золотое кольцо России

Ростов — неотъемлемая часть Золотого Кольца России. Первое упоминание о Ростове Ярославском встречается в «Повести Временных Лет» от 862 года и гласит, что этим городом владел Рюрик. Впервые город назван Великим в Ипатьевской Летописи, описывающей события 1151 года. Сейчас город известен Ростовским кремлем, в котором был снят фильм «Иван Васильевич меняет профессию» и многими другими достопримечательностями.

Туристический маршрут включает в себя 8 основных городов Золотого Кольца. Направление довольно популярное, ведь расположены эти древние города с многовековой историей в транспортной доступности от столицы. Маршрут весьма гибкий, и возможно составить индивидуальное путешествие.

Нередко при поездке на автомобиле по Золотому Кольцу самостоятельно туристы включают посещение городов Углич, Мышкин, Рыбинск, Гусь Хрустальный, Плес. Авторы проекта нового ярославского музея «Шоу-макет «Золотое Кольцо» создали миниатюрную копию Ростова с главными его достопримечательностями. Вы можете ознакомиться с их творением на сайте музея.


rostov2.jpg

Золотое кольцо России на машине — зачем ехать в Ростов

С Ростова Великого Ярославского началась история Руси. Это прекрасный объект для поездки на выходные дни, ведь расположен город всего лишь в 200 км от Москвы. С Ярославского вокзала можно добраться на поезде, путь занимает около 3 часов.

В Ростове Великом довольно много гостиниц, расположенных в отреставрированных купеческих домах. Скромный современный отель можно забронировать от 1000 руб/сут. Удобно отправиться по городам Золотого Кольца на машине. Ростов Великий расположен в самой середине Золотого Кольца, поэтому есть несколько маршрутов с остановкой в этом древнем городе.

Возможен такой вариант поездки на 10–12 дней: Владимир — Суздаль — Иваново — Плес — Кострома — Ярославль — Тутаев — Рыбинск — Мышкин — Углич — Ростов Великий — Переславль-Залесский — Сергиев Посад — Москва. Тем, кто не располагает большим количеством выходных дней, рекомендуем разделить поездку на несколько частей. Даже самый притязательный турист найдет, куда съездить по маршрутам Золотого Кольца.


rostov3.jpeg

Что посмотреть в Ростове Великом — главные достопримечательности

Ростов Великий — неотъемлемая часть истории Русского Государства. Долгие годы православие здесь мирно сосуществовало с язычеством. Издревле земля ростовская славилась торговлей, а местная ярмарка была на Руси третьей по величине.

Престол этого древнего города, пережившего и пик расцвета, и времена забвения, помнит правление молодого Ярослава Мудрого. Тихие улочки расскажут вам истории об отважных витязях, крушивших орду на Куликовом Поле под предводительством Дмитрия Донского.

Ежегодно в конце августа ростовчане проводят праздник, посвященный Алеше Поповичу, знаменитому герою русского фольклора и уроженцу этих мест. В Ростове Великом изобилие религиозных достопримечательностей, но и помимо них найдется, что посмотреть.

  • Ростовский Кремль — историко-архитектурный ансамбль, обладающий истинной уникальностью. Возведение комплекса зданий было завершено в 1683 году. Сейчас это визитная карточка Ростова.
  • Воскресенская надвратная церковь, сооруженная в XVII веке, располагается над главным входом в митрополичий двор — Святыми воротами.
  • Сохранившееся здание Успенского Собора возведено в 1512 году. До XI века сооружение представляло собой деревянную церковь. Впервые каменное здание собора возвели в 1220 гг. при князе Андрее Боголюбском.
  • Сооружение Звонницы Ростовского кремля, являющейся самостоятельным архитектурным комплексом, было завершено в XVII веке. Система колоколов, являющаяся обособленным музыкальным инструментом, воспроизводит знаменитые ростовские звоны. Способность водной поверхности озера Неро, на котором величественно расположился весь архитектурный комплекс, отражать звучание делает колокольный звон прекрасным.

Что посмотреть в Ростове Великом, кроме церквей и храмов?

  • Музей Финифти, где представлены экземпляры XVIII—XX вв. Техника «Ростовской Финифти» была заимствована у византийских мастеров.
  • Музей «Царевна-лягушка», который так нравится детям, расположен в отреставрированном купеческом особняке XVIII века.
  • Озеро Неро — также визитная карточка Ростова, подаренная самой природой!

В соответствии с постановлением правительства РФ музей будет закрыт с 28 марта 2020.